Textile Talk

My name is Allie Bennett, owner of Stitchville. Each week I’ll be exploring what’s going on in the wide world of fiber. We’ll discuss sewing, knitting, crochet, tatting, needlepoint, macramé, and many more! I mean, do you even know what macramé is? Well, you will. I’ll take you on a tactile journey like no other. But first, some exposition.

I began sewing as a child, and am quite sure that of all her students, my sewing teacher would have never guessed that I’d still be sewing. I had more interest in entertaining the rest of the class than actually getting work done. It should have been no surprise then when I went into theatre at Louisiana Tech. There I grew my skills, both in sewing and entertaining. And I have a great time doing both.

From school, I went on to work from home creating recycled and reversible bags (thus the Repursables name). When I finally opened up shop, I decided to include yarns- having no idea how to knit. Needless to say, there were many funny looks from my family. I had NO idea about- well anything! And here we are, almost 3 years later, and some days I feel like I still have no idea about anything!

So, each week, we’ll journey together through the exciting world of textile. Really folks, I promise. It will be exciting. Next week- knitting!

image 1 image 2

Leave a Reply

