Art is no happy accident

I was the first of the interns to pick my artists. I was sure to pick Whitney Caskey for two reasons.
Reason 1: we went to high school together and I had a big crush on her and, even though she was Whitney Anderson back then, I’m hoping this will impress her enough to invent a time machine to go back and change things. Time machines are a long shot, I know.
Reason 2: I’ve alway like Whitney’s work, even back in high school. It’s always had a certain depth and quality to it that kept me coming back. Plus, it’s always cool to look at a piece and say to yourself, “I know the person that produced this.”

Growing up in such a small town (we graduated in a 34 person class), Whitney turned to reading to find her escape. This love of storytelling went hand in hand with drawing, being able to depict and illustrate the scenes she saw in her head as she read. Drawing lead to painting, which has led her now into more photography work. Caskey states that “allows for more experimentation, especially when combined with the more traditional arts.”

Her work retains the storybook qualities of her youth, revolving around a narrative that the viewer is able to interpret. We, as viewers, aren’t forced into one single story. We can project our own experiences and ideas onto the storytelling framework that Whitney creates. Much of her work features Whitney as a character. “I tend to place myself in these scenes, much like a reader places themselves in any story they read.”

Whitney Caskey’s work will be displayed at Serendipity Home in downtown Ruston. Serendipity home is a home decor store in which you can find dishes, furniture, and picture frames as well as the handmade Ali-Mar made by owner Patricia Willis.

Leave a Reply

