Image

Design from Around the World: Sweden

Hello!

My name is Caitlin Angel and I’m one of the interns this year.  I am a senior at LA Tech majoring in Graphic Design. I’ve been exploring different areas in design trying to decide what I want to do once I graduate. I’m so excited to work with NCLAC this year!

 

Along with design one of my favorite things is traveling. This past year I went to Paris with the art department for 3 weeks. It was one of the best experiences. I was inspired from all the art history and culture. I am currently on a road trip across the US. I try to incorporate new and exciting things I see from traveling in my work.

 

My blog will take you through how design differs around the world and over many years. Design is always evolving. It is similar to languages and changes from culture to culture. Influenced by culture, history, and even other countries, design changes constantly.

 

So to start off my blog I wanted to stay with the road trip theme and share a story about a mobile design studio from Sweden.

 

Screen Shot 2012-08-15 at 8.28.55 AM

Erik Olovsson, a recent design-school graduate, converted an old motor home into his own portable design studio. He would trade his work for things he needed on the road. This way he could learn about design around the world and stay close to his customers. (Seems pretty perfect to me!)

 

I think learning from reality can be way more inspiring and interesting than just surfing through the internet or books. Erik’s idea of constant travel helps him grow as a designer and a person. Hopefully one day I can travel and work at the same time as well! Hopefully you enjoyed this post and look forward to next weeks design around the world.

Leave a Reply

