Homegrown: 2011 Holiday Arts Tour

Homegrown will be a weekly post highlighting our Holiday Arts Tour artists. NCLAC would like to celebrate the artists living in our own backyard whether they were raised here, relocated, or just like to visit enough to call Ruston home. This years Holiday Arts Tour will be November 18, 19, & 20th. Watch here for more information and tour locations.

This weeks post is about Jane Campbell a resident of North Louisiana for most of her life.

ABOUT JANE

Jane Campbell has been a resident of North Louisiana most of her life. Jane’s passion is art and when she is notcreating art she is admiring the works of other artists.  She has always been interested in the arts and finally pursued learning how to create in the last 10 years. 

 In 2001 Jane was introduced to stained glass mosaics by the late Sue Bryan.  The bright colors of the glass in the light caught her eye and she was hooked.  She studied the art of stained glass mosaics underSu efor 4 years.  She participated in 2 North Central Louisiana Arts Council Holiday Studio Tours at So Do Art in Downsville, LA where her mosaics were displayed along with other northLouisianaartists. 

In 2007 Janereached into other forms of art and studied charcoal, oil painting, and clay under Christina Gray of Monroe, LAfor 3 years. 

Some of Jane’s work can be found at Piney Hills Gallery inRuston,LA.   She is available for commissioned work and can be contacted at jcampbell0518@gmail.com.

ARTIST STATEMENT

My passion for art began long before I started creating and displaying my own.  As a child I began to draw block letters and think about the shadows the letter would create if the light was coming from this way or that and draw the shadows accordingly.  I have always been interested in the arts and finally pursued learning how to create in the last 10 years.  When I’m not creating art I am thinking about creating.  One of my favorite pastimes is admiring the works of other artists, talking with other artists and learning from them. 

In 2001 I was introduced to stained glass mosaics by the lateSueBryan.  The bright colors of the glass in the light caught my eye and I was hooked.  I studied the art of stained glass mosaics underSuefor 4 years.  I participated in 2 North Central Louisiana Arts Council Holiday Studio Tours at So Do Art inDownsville,LAwhere my mosaics were displayed along with other north Louisiana artists. 

THE INTERVIEW

NCLAC: What inspires, influences, and/or drives you as an artist?

CAMPBELL: I believe God made created us to be creative.  I feel at my best when I am creating art.

NCLAC: Can you tell us something quirky or interesting about you that sets you apart? 

CAMPBELL: At age 50 I started taking Belly Dancing lessons.  When I finally decided to tell closest friends, my daughters and my sisters, they all laughed and thought I was joking. 

NCLAC: What’s your first memory of the arts, and/or how did you become interested in art?

CAMPBELL: Going to Lawrence Holder’s house as a child and peeking into his art studio.  I thought it was the coolest thing I had ever seen.

NCLAC is supported in part by a grant from the Louisiana Division of the Arts, Office of Cultural Development, Department of Culture, Recreation & Tourism, in cooperation with the Louisiana State Arts Council, Funding has also been provided by the National Endowment for the Arts, a Federal agency.  In addition funding for the Holiday Arts Tour is supported by a grant from the Louisiana Division of the Arts, Office of Cultural Development, Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism in cooperation with the Louisiana State Arts Council and administered by the Shreveport Regional Arts Council

One thought on “Homegrown: 2011 Holiday Arts Tour

Leave a Reply

